Angel Reese a Finalist for Katrina McClain Award

March 14, 2024

Athlete Studio

LSU's Angel Reese has once again secured her position among the top contenders for the prestigious Katrina McClain Award, marking her second consecutive year as a finalist in the top five for the nation's premier power forwards.

As the reigning SEC Player of the Year, Reese has showcased her dominance on the court, leading the SEC in both scoring, with an impressive 19.1 points per game, and rebounding, with an astonishing 13.0 rebounds per game. Her remarkable performance has solidified her as a standout player, joining the ranks of Vanderbilt's Wendy Scholtens as the only individuals to lead the league in both categories for multiple seasons, a feat last achieved in 1989 and 1990.

Throughout the season, Reese has consistently delivered exceptional performances, tallying an impressive 20 double-doubles, including an impressive streak of nine consecutive games. Her contributions extend beyond scoring and rebounding, as evidenced by her defensive prowess, where she ranks among the SEC leaders with 1.8 steals per game and 0.9 blocks per game.

Furthermore, Reese has etched her name in the record books, setting an NCAA record with 34 double-doubles last year and continuing her dominance this season with a total of 54 double-doubles during her tenure at LSU. Notably, she recorded a stellar performance against Auburn, registering 25 points and 20 rebounds, marking her seventh 20/20 game and sixth 25/20 game of her career.

Her impact extends beyond individual statistics, as Reese leads the nation in offensive rebounding, averaging an impressive 5.6 offensive boards per game. Additionally, she ranks second in the country with 214 free throw attempts and sixth with 156 free throws made, further demonstrating her versatility and skill on the court.

Looking ahead, the finalists for the Katrina McClain Award will undergo evaluation by the esteemed Selection Committee, comprised of distinguished figures within the basketball community, including media members, head coaches, sports information directors, and Hall of Famers. This esteemed panel will convene later this month to determine the recipient of this prestigious accolade.

The 2024 Katrina McClain Award Finalists are as follows:

- Yvonne Ejim, Gonzaga

- Angel Reese, LSU

- Kiki Iriafen, Stanford

- Aaliyah Edwards, UConn

- Alissa Pili, Utah

You might like

Shop All

Subscribe to my newsletter

Subscribe for the latest highlights and content